An Introduction into The Chakras

The entire universe is made of energy, and your body is no exception.

Long before modern technology and science, ancient cultures knew that all living things carried a life force with them. They are the centres of energy that move inside of us, the 7 chakras.

The Sanskrit word Chakra literally translates to ‘wheel or disk’. In Reiki, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body.

There are seven main chakras, which align the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. To visualize a chakra in the body, imagine a swirling wheel of energy where matter and consciousness meet.

This invisible energy, called Prana, is vital life force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy and alive.

In a healthy person, the 7 chakras provide exactly the right amount of energy to every part of your body, mind and spirit. However, if one of your chakras is out of balance, your health will suffer.

By learning about the chakras, you can become more in tune with your body, connect physical, emotional and spiritual imbalances with the chakras that empower them and begin to balance your chakras to live a healthy and harmonious life.

The 7 Chakras – A Summary

1. Root Chakra — Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded.
Location: Base of spine in tailbone area.
Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money and food.

2. Sacral Chakra — Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.
Location: Lower abdomen, about two inches below the navel and two inches in.
Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure and sexuality.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra — Our ability to be confident and in control of our lives.
Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.
Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence and self-esteem.

4. Heart Chakra — Our ability to love.
Location: Centre of chest just above the heart.
Emotional issues: Love, joy and inner peace.

5. Throat Chakra — Our ability to communicate.
Location: Throat.
Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings and the truth.

6. Third Eye Chakra — Our ability to focus on and see the big picture.
Location: Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra).
Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom and the ability to think and make decisions.

7. Crown Chakra — The highest chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.
Location: The very top of the head.
Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality and pure bliss.

To learn more about Spiritual Healing or to book a healing session, please get in touch via the contact page or call me on 01202 303722 or 07919051056.

You also may be interested in my next Reiki Level 1 Course. Check out our Events page and feel free to contact me for bookings and more information.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.